This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...

Make sure not to miss out! 

Enter 2019's National Women’s Club T20 Knockout Cup & Plate competition taking place in May and June. 

Contact before registrations close on Sunday 16th December.

hide announcement


The club was formed in 1921 and joined the West Cleveland League in the following year, 1922 being their first year of league cricket.


In December 1934 the club was accepted into the North Yorkshire and South Durham League B Division, the 2nd team staying in the West Cleveland League. During the 1950s/60s the Club expanded with junior sections and a 3rd team being formed and therefore all club teams were playing in the NYSD divisions, the club withdrawing from Cleveland and Teesside league after 47 years membership. In 1976 Great Ayton Cricket and Football Clubs amalgamated and a clubhouse was erected.


The 1960/70s brought success on the field of play with championship wins in the B Division in 1969,1972 and four years consecutive from 1977 to 1980 (no promotion in those days), the second team won the C Division in 1972  and 1978, and the Club also had outstanding cup success during this period. Many fine players graced those successful Ayton teams, with Gary Readman at the forefront and Ian Russell amassing more than 1500 wickets.  


The late 1980’s saw the Club having to rethink and they appointed a junior coach (Keith Brett), with new practice nets and an all-weather wicket installed, and a junior section formed with age groups from u11 to u17. This move proved an outstanding success and through the development of home grown players the senior teams began to benefit.


In 2003 the first team again won the league and a long awaited promotion to the Premier Division was gained, and then in 2006 the Premier Division title was won for the first time in the Club’s history with David Grainge the captain.


Success followed success over the next decade, with all the major cups won, and in 2014 Great Ayton appeared in front of the Sky TV cameras at Wantage Road, Northampton having qualified as one of the 4 finalists in the National Club T20, their passage to the finals coming courtesy of Northern Area and North of England regional successes.


The Premier Division title was won again in 2017, success achieved from the very last ball of the season, Jon Grainge skippering the team to glory 11 years after his brother started the Premier ball rolling. During this period of cup and league glory English professional Chris Batchelor has regularly hit the heights, and the Whitby lad has now scored over 10,000 runs for his adopted Club.


Alongside sustained playing success many ground improvements have been completed in recent years, including refurbishment and extension of both the dressing rooms and clubhouse, and further works are currently being planned with new practice nets and ground levelling hoped to be completed during 2018, these made possible by the unstinting work and support of Club officials, members, sponsors, players, tea ladies and supporters.



Leven Park

Easby Lane

Great Ayton


Great Ayton Cricket Club